T-Pain Hates the Weak

29 Aug

Since MegaWoman blogged about how she always names her player(s) “PENIS”, I thought I should also share my video game character naming preferences. Please excuse the sheisty quality of these photos.

I for some reason enjoy naming my villains “T-Pain“. I don’t have a personal vendetta towards the guy. But for a while, wasn’t it better to have T-Pain in a bit of everything? So I’d like to inject that idea into my video games.

Pokemon SoulSilver

T-Pain is my angry, red-haired rival in Pokemon SoulSilver

When it comes to my own character name, my character is always called “menace“. Oh. That’s my blog profile name too. This nickname came about at my previous job, where nobody could pronounce my name correctly, hence calling me “Dennis”, which turned into “Dennis the Menace”, which then, through a series of coworkers too lazy for names with more than 3 syllables, became, “The Menace”. For a while I even had my own jingle, “Dennis~ the MEH~nace~”. (Um, just use your imagination or something…) After that it just kind of stuck. Because my previous nickname was “Mushroom”. That doesn’t sound threatening at all, in any way, and I’m not sure that many people even like mushrooms.

My closest friends know that I listen to a lot of kpop (Korean pop music), and I have a fetish for extremely pretty Asian boys, most of which are probably prettier than me. So why not integrate my kpop boys into my games? After all, it’s my fantasy world, right? Here’s a screenshot from my Dragon Quest IX game. You can see that I named my priest “Taemin“, who, in my books, is the barely-legal lead dancer from the kpop group SHINee. I even gave him awesome hair like Taemin has IRL. And look, he even has slanted eyes and wears vibrant clothing! It’s too bad my priest is the weakest link in my party.

Taemin of SHINee

Taemin of SHINee, image via http://demenkorea.blogspot.com

Dragon Quest IX - Priest Custom Character

My priest, TAEMIN! Mwahaha...

What are your game naming preferences? Leave a comment, we’d love to hear them!

One Response to “T-Pain Hates the Weak”

  1. argos5 August 30, 2010 at 7:38 pm #

    Taemin… oh good gods… doesn’t help that my main character has that hair… >.>

    Naming preferences, I stick to— names that start with “A”, not sure why, it just happens.

Leave a Reply

