Sh*t I’m Excited For This Week…9/1/10

1 Sep

Lately, I haven’t talked to a single anime-watching female who has NOT watched at least 2 episodes or read a volume of Kuroshitsuji/Black Butler. I mean… hot demonic butler and cute blue-haired kid in Victorian-influenced gothic attire?! Kind of difficult to pass on that. I won’t lie, I was not very impressed with the first season of Black Butler. I didn’t emotionally invest in any of the characters–I was more moved by Joker in the manga, which was completely different from the anime anyway. Fans were mixed at the conclusion of Black Butler.

Black Butler II Yana Toboso

Alois & Claude vs. Ciel & Sebastian (left image via lilycat.net, right image via kyonqchie.wordpress.com

When Black Butler II was revealed, I wasn’t even sure I wanted to watch it. A new butler and new master? Out of boredom I decided to watch episode 1, which FUNimation warned me was mature. That was completely accurate. Don’t watch this with your younger sister. Or brother. Or mom. Especially if she’s Asian, like mine. She would shake her head at me for watching this. The new season is far more graphic compared to the relatively tame first season. The assumed protagonist (though he doesn’t seem like a good kid) Alois already got on my nerves within the first 10 minutes, and his butler, Claude, was less suave than Sebastian. I sighed through the first 15 minutes, drumming my fingers along the keyboard of my laptop. A mysterious visitor drops by Alois’ mansion and my mind was subsequently blown after that.

With the exception of the disappointing 2nd episode, I like that Black Butler II has taken a decidedly darker and more violent turn. Past secrets are also dug up that fill in some of the questions I had from season one. I still have some issues with the pacing, and I’m still debating if I’m emotionally invested in any of the characters, but I must admit that I can’t really pass on watching the bishounen butlers set up for an elaborate dinner while simultaneously hurling knives and forks at their foe.

Sebastian Michaelis - Black Butler

No spoilers here~ image via ugo.com

I desperately tried not to give away any spoilers if you have not seen Black Butler II yet. I highly suggest watching season 1 to enjoy the deeper twists in season 2…

Episode 8 of Black Butler II will be released this week on Youtube on the FUNimation channel.

Leave a Reply

