Who says I’m grown up?

24 Sep

It would be a lie if I said I didn’t watch cartoons anymore. (I firmly believe that there’s no such thing as being too old for kids’ things).  Lately, I’ve been feeling a bit nostalgic, so I spent the weekend watching Invader Zim on the Cartoon Network and I happened upon the pilot episode of Sym-Bionic Titans.

Basic storyline so far: alien princess and her assigned royal guard and robot protector have fled to Earth to escape an alien invasion on their home planet. They’ve got to integrate with human high schoolers, but occasionally use their super-cool alien armour to fight the alien monsters that have been sent to kill them.

The animation felt familiar; I looked it up and realised that the series is made by the same guy who made Dexter’s Laboratory and Samurai Jack. While it might be that my rose-coloured nostalgia-tinted memories of those shows predisposes me to like this show, I think it’s independently good. (Watching alien observations of high school cliques is always entertaining).

I’m also amused by the fact that the main villain (male) wears thigh high patent leather boots with spurs and has a face like a bearded monkey. And a cape with large orange fur accents. Oh, the Cyclops eye on his hat shoots out green lightning; that’s cool.

The plot is kid-show predictable, but it’s still fun to watch it play out! And, honestly, it’s kinda what you want in a TV show anyway, isn’t it? Enough predictability that you feel satisfied when what you expected happens, but still an entertaining ride along the way? The pilot looks promising, if a little short; so far, I like this show.

Leave a Reply

