The Menace’s Top Five Fictional Ladycrushes

5 Oct

So when I asked MegaWoman about our “top 5 childhood crushes”, I asked if I could perhaps include a female. This was decided against as we’d have much too hard of a time trying to choose 5 (male OR female) of our crushes, and also, we wanted to up the girl-on-girl factor on this blog, as if there wasn’t enough already.

5. Faith – Buffy the Vampire Slayer

I watched Buffy religiously in high school, until… Buffy realized she had a young sister, and I realized I was not a fan of Michelle Trachtenberg so I promptly stopped watching the show. Also, maybe I got distracted by boys. Hmm. Can’t remember. Despite my addiction to the show, I wasn’t a hardcore fan of any one character until season 3, when Faith showed up, who was the complete opposite of Buffy, and wore better clothes (or so I thought, at the time). She was also extremely troubled and at times, a villain. But I believe her character arc left the deepest impression on me because her attitude changed through a series of prettydamncrazy events, and her “change” was gradual enough for me to believe–it was admirable, despite all the cringe-worthy things she actually did.

Arashi Kishuu / X-1999

Arashi Kishuu. Image via pixel-ellipsis.net.

4. Arashi Kishuu – X/1999

Arashi is the solemn–err, shy? Mysterious? Withdrawn? All of the above? Dragon of Heaven. A sword shoots out from her hand. She’s also the “soul mate” of Sorata–and they have an awkward, high-school-type romance throughout, that at times, forces her to reveal her emotional, human side. I won’t even go into detail or reveal spoilers but their romance is one of the most memorable in my anime history.

Sayuki & Mako, Initial D

Sayuki (left), Mako (right) of Impact Blue / Initial D

3. Sayuki – Initial D

The quick-thinking, feisty half of Impact Blue, Sayuki was my absolute favorite character in the entire Initial D series. She knows what she wants, goes after it and doesn’t beat around the bush. We definitely need more females like that in media.

Alice, Resident Evil

This red dress is kind of iconic. Image via cobolhacker.com

2. Alice – Resident Evil (movies)

Badass and stylish while battling the undead. Also, Milla Jovovich.

Callisto from Xena, Warrior Princess

Callisto, my #1 mad girl crush

1. Callisto – Xena, Warrior Princess

The more I think about it, the more I begin to think that Faith and Callisto are perhaps the same character, set in different time periods, with different monsters to battle. Callisto was probably the only person who could ever best Xena, which always made for an exciting match between the two. She also didn’t give a fuck and wore a damn hot outfit. Even though Callisto was pretty much psycho and very scary at times–her spontaneity and utter lack of emotion made for an incredibly captivating character.

One Response to “The Menace’s Top Five Fictional Ladycrushes”

  1. takju March 27, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    Nah, I prefer Mako/Maya. Shes a beautiful babe.

Leave a Reply

