HP7.1

21 Nov

Harry Potter! Harry Potter! Harry Potter!

I’m still so split about that fact that they’ve split the movie into two parts. Part of me is repulsed by the overt attempt to milk as much profit from this movie franchise as they can. The cheapskate Indian part of my is unhappy that I’ll  have to pay for overpriced movie tickets twice in order to see both halves of the same story.

Then again, the Harry Potter fan in me is delighted that my beloved series is lasting for so long. This two part movie gives me two additional things to still be excited about now that the books have all been published.  For all I know, the last movie might fizzle, and all my excitement will be for nothing… but seeing the posters on the sides of buses and on billboards and ads on TV/Hulu still makes me smile and gives me this little burst of ‘happy’ until the movies prove otherwise.

The HP7.1 was awesome. I don’t know if I’d say it’s the best of the seven so far (I’m still a huge fan of the fifth because I think it’s the best movie version of a very long book) but it was good! So much better than the sixth movie, which sometimes felt like just two people talking and they’d switch out who those two people were.

7.1 has a similar feel to movie 6 and 5, in terms of colour and a bit of tone, but it’s not as dark or slow. And, overall, I think it’s a great rendition of t he book. No spoilers, so I’m not going to tell you where it ended or how it played out too much, but let’s just say that they actually managed to make the boring, camping-in-the-forest part of the book not boring.

Seeing the movie reminded me of just how much I love this series. I’m off to re-read the books again. Let’s hope that sates my HP appetite for a little bit. Probably won’t last too long though, and soon I’ll be scouring the web for snippets about HP7.2.

One Response to “HP7.1”

  1. Nicole December 1, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

    I loved that it was actually a good adaptation that included all of the important parts of the book without being boring! I forgot how much happened in the first half.

    But I’m so mad I have to wait to see the rest! Except I don’t want it to officially be over! AHHHHHH!

Leave a Reply

