Trying to Burn Off Those Thanksgiving Calories… Part 1/2

29 Nov

“Trying” is the keyword. I say “trying” because I end up reading comic books while eating dinner by myself (because I’m a loser) or watching old clips of “Naked Gun”–yesterday only though, because Leslie Nielsen passed yesterday and he will be missed greatly by this Asian girl who grew up watching the “Naked Gun” movies.

I hope all of you had a great Thanksgiving. By that, I mean, you made a mental note to go to the gym first thing after work on Monday, but you are actually sitting here reading this blog post munching on your leftover turkey. I did my pilates yesterday so it’s ok for me to bum here while researching The Guild’s 3rd and final installment in their graphic novel series. (It was released last week on Wednesday)

As a huge “The Guild” fan, I was pleased to hear that the graphic novel would be written as a prequel to Codex’s foray into the Game. I’ll be the first female to admit that Felicia Day has written “Codex” in a way that encourages females to embrace themselves for who they are–because no matter how you’ve fucked up your first date or how you’ve made an intimate moment very awkward, Codex has done worse. So, thank you, Felicia Day, for that, I feel better already. Each character has a more developed backstory, as avid Guildies have limited information about Tinkerballa, who first meets Cyd in novel #1, unknowingly. This is good because right now, Tinkerballa, to me, is just that stereotypical Asian bitch who likes white guys and rolls her eyes all day.

Image via spawnkill.com . Oh, Cyd, you say all that us females are actually afraid to say out loud.

What I found appealing with the comic is that the art style is drastically different from the 2D versions of our favorite Guild characters during the opening sequence of the webisodes. I am truly relishing the attention to detail in the graphic novel, most notably in Cyd/Codex’s clothes and her facial expressions. I must say that some of the characters have gone through the graphic novel-superhero treatment–becoming more attractive in terms of their body proportions (ahem Vork) but the witty dialogue is still present, as the novels were all written by Day, who also writes the web series.

Because I have not yet touched volume #3 this post has been separated into 2 parts. Part 2 will include my final analysis of the graphic novels in their entirety.

Leave a Reply

