Magical Musical Geekery

4 Dec

HP7.1 totally re-sparked my love for the series and, addict that I am, I’ve been re-immersing myself into (the epic black-hole that is) Harry Potter fandom.

In case you’re unfamiliar with (the vortex of doom that is) Harry Potter fandom, it is vast and varied and often worrying. Whether it’s fanfiction stories that are longer than all the novels combined, or handcrafted wands that are practically works of art, or wizard rock bands that have sold-out concerts on a grand scale, the HP fandom is impressive.

(It’s also quite disturbing sometimes, and that only starts with how easy it is to degenerate into dirty ‘wand’ jokes. Part of the fun of the fandom is wading through the Hogwarts-sized piles of crap in order to find the diamonds in the rough.)

But, my favourite part about the HP fandom is how creative it can be. If you ignore all the derivative work copyright infringement issues, I think that the innovation this one series of books has sparked is admirable.

For instance, I present, for your consideration, A Very Potter Musical.

A little out of date (because I believe it was written before Book 5: Order of the Phoenix), but that doesn’t stop it from being fun. 
If you haven’t already seen it, have you at least heard of it? If not, what sort of Harry Potter fan are you?! I mean, come on! This is practically a classic now.

I’m holding my breath for Harry Potter on Ice, because I’m sure it’s just a matter of time. All those robes billowing gracefully as they skate by…

One Response to “Magical Musical Geekery”

  1. Nicole December 20, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

    When I was at Azkatraz, there was an entire group of people singing this together while someone played an acoustic version of the score. And it was totally awesome!

Leave a Reply

