At Your Fingers

8 Dec

Does anyone remember that fantastical exhibit the Metropolitan Museum of Art had 2 years ago showcasing superhero-inspired high fashion creations? Which was also then given its own, extremely memorable spread in American Vogue? (see below for a quick refresher)

A Catwoman-inspired outfit by Dolce & Gabbana, from Vogue. Image via stylefrizz.com

And then, American designer Diane von Furstenberg designed a capsule collection inspired by Wonder Woman shortly afterwards… this, I was only lukewarm towards. If I’m a grown woman with a day job tinkering away in the office on my keyboard, I’m not sure I’d want to wear a wrap dress with a glittering star slapped on the side.

Diane von Furstenberg Holiday 2008. Image via nitrolicious.com

Now, nOir Jewelry has teamed up with DC Comics for their 75th anniversary to launch a limited-edition line of superhero-inspired JEWELRY. I commend the fashion industry for being the leaders of sometimes-bottomless risk-taking in hopes of making a few extra bucks. These crossovers don’t always work, but I give brownie points for effort. You know, I do cosplay and all, and I do own that infamous “Video games destroyed my life good thing I have two extra lives ” tee from Threadless, but for some reason the only person I could ever see these rings on is Ke$ha.

I'm not crazy, right? Ke$ha needs these. Image via refinery29.com

And it’s not only because I’ve had “We R Who We R” stuck in my head for the past 3 days.

Click to open the video. I apologize in advance if you have this song stuck in your head for the next week. Just listen to "Whip My Hair" to boot it out of your brain.

2 Responses to “At Your Fingers”

  1. Mighty!Marz December 8, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    The wrap dress looks like Starro’s been attached. Perfect if you want to look like an alien supervillain has taken over your brain.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. There Are Other Wonderful Women in Comics Other Than Wonder Woman… « THE GEEK SPOT (the g-spot) - January 31, 2011

    […] Yes, she is Wonder Woman and we won’t debate how wonderful she is. Hell, her name is fucking Wonder Woman. But does she really need ANOTHER non-nerdy collaboration? […]

Leave a Reply

