Super Full Screen Viewing Suggested

20 Jan

The Evangelion 2.0 movie, “You Can (Not) Advance” will premiere in the US on January 21 (tomorrow) in select theatres, and the “reboot” of this beloved series is leaving anime fans to debate whether or not this “improved” version of a classic is worth 2 hours of their life.

This is the second film of four in the “Rebuild of Evangelion” series, initiated in 2006, and while the film debuted in 2009 across the globe, I suppose there were licensing issues that delayed the North American release for 2 years.   (don’t we generally get everything LATER than everyone else? Like video capabilities on our cell phones? The Japanese had those in 2002…) Needless to say I’m pretty sure most of you have already downloaded this movie, so what’s the point?

Just some of our favorite anime ladies. Image via halcyonrealms.com.

Just some of our favorite anime ladies. Image via halcyonrealms.com.

My thoughts exactly–I never really understood why anyone would bother to view an anime movie on a large screen unless it was his/her first time viewing the movie, or his/her first foray into the magical (fantastical?) world of anime… until Anime Expo 2010. I tagged along with some of my friends to catch a screening of the second Gurren Lagann movie, “The Lights in the Sky are Stars” (Ragan-hen), and while I had previously only watched about 15 minutes of the anime series, I was hooked after seeing the movie. I was seated next to Yoko and Kamina cosplayers, crossing my legs as to accommodate all the Yokos’ guns tucked underneath the seats. Kamina’s seiyuu, Katsuyuki Konishi, introduced the movie, and as the crowd cheered and groaned collectively at key points in the movie, I could feel the energy in the atmosphere, something I couldn’t experience behind my 15″ computer screen at home. I guess it also helps that I was watching mecha action–I had watched a couple episodes of “Bamboo Blade” prior in other screening room, and there was a goddamn lot of cheering (myself included). I could only liken this experience to the time I went to see the “Grindhouse” (Robert Rodriguez/Quentin Tarantino) double-feature on opening night, packed crowd and all–everyone present for the same reason with escalating levels of excitement before and during the film. (That’s also why I enjoy going to live shows so much)

So don’t ask me if I’m in support of the Evangelion reboot, or against it… I’ll be at the Downtown Independent next weekend to relax and revel in some almost-full-scale mecha action.

Evangelion 2.0 will be screening at the Downtown Independent from January 28-February 3rd. Get your tickets here!

Also, if you still have not watched the first movie, the Downtown Independent will be re-screening this movie on January 27.

Leave a Reply

