The Cape: Campy Champion-y

25 Jan

If you haven’t seen it yet, here’s the trailer (which I don’t think shows how good the show actually is, but will still give you an idea of what you’re in for):

 

Reasons I like this show so far:

It’s fun! The entire show, from the basic premise of superhero with magical cape powers to execution of the plotline, edges on the ridiculous. But it’s just on the edge. As of the three episodes I’ve seen, it walks the fine line of enjoyable goofiness and has yet to fall into the trap of being an absurd farce. I think it’s the perfect level of campy, as long as you approach it with that in mind.

It’s a comic book, no really. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but there’s something about this show that makes it feel like watching a live-action comic book. It’s great! I think it’s the fact that everything’s just slightly overacted: enough so it’s thematic, but not so much that it’s annoying or too cheesy. And the background music is always perfect: slightly cartoony but subtle enough not to be noticed all the time.

It’s straightforward: Don’t know if it was my familiarity with the actor, or the fact that he’s the only British guy in the show, but I knew the identity of the ‘masked villain Chess’ (which is a cool name without being too ridiculous) within the first five minutes of the pilot. You were obviously meant to.

Honestly, I didn’t mind. After suffering through shows like The Event and Flash Forward, where the mystery and confusion of not knowing anything just blurs into tedium, I like having things laid out for me so openly. Plus, it adds to the feel that it’s an old-school comic, where bad guys were bad guys and good guys were good guys and you enjoyed watching them duke it out.
And, it’s not so predictable that it’s boring though, which is trap No Ordinary Family tends to fall into.

It’s got great names: Love that the Big Brother figure is Orwell. I’m sure everyone got the literary reference, but it makes the English major in me happy.

Also, Carnival of Crime! I mean, come on. It’s brilliant and alliterative and fun all in one title. And they robbed banks in circus costumes, with a dwarf and using an ice-cream truck and a raccoon. It’s hard not to love it.

It’s unexpectedly witty: Do we think the raccoon acted alone?”

 

Leave a Reply

