DAMN YOU, NICOLE.

2 Feb

OG Oregon Trail. Image via latimes.com

That’s right. I’m playing Oregon Trail. On Facebook. Right now. Brings back fond memories of the computer lab in…1st? 2nd? grade? cursing at the person in my wagon who kept getting a fever and wouldn’t heal properly. Cursing at all the damn rocks as I navigated on the rivers. Cursing at the fucking rabbits that got away when I tried to hunt them for food. Ah, elementary school memories.

I’m sitting here now, waiting at Alcove Spring for my energy to refill (yeup, like Mafia Wars, without the participation in illegal activities–part). I’ve already figured out which one of my teammates is the one who keeps getting sick every 20 miles and won’t heal, and have already had to repair my wagon. It’s been so long since I’ve played that I’m not sure if I even stocked up appropriately for my journey to Oregon, but the “hunt” option is part of the “mini-games” located next to the “speed” and “inventory” icons on the bottom menu. Maybe it’s because I’m on a notebook computer and the trackpad is confusing the cursor but hunting is not really that easy. There’s a rating for “epic kill”–it’s not for killing a bear–I just killed one and didn’t get congratulated on it. So… I have yet to find out what the epic kill is. Bison?

But you can’t hunt too often otherwise you run low on energy. *twiddles thumbs*

New Oregon Trail.

You know, I will admit that I am that person who hides all the game feeds and will hide your feed if all your updates are about which building you just pillaged in Mafia Wars–don’t publish that shit, Facebook friends.

But I will play Oregon Trail on Facebook for memory’s sake so fuck off and don’t judge me.

Oh, and also, Happy Chinese New Year, if you’re Chinese. Just acknowledging, that’s all. We’re all …cultured and socially… aware over here at The G-Spot…

One Response to “DAMN YOU, NICOLE.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Everything Is Better With Zombies. « THE GEEK SPOT (the g-spot) - February 11, 2011

    […] Facebook’s revamped Oregon Trail is pretty cool, but this is a throwback to the original DOS-style Oregon Trail, updated with zombies (therefore […]

Leave a Reply

