Still Trying to Catch ‘Em All

3 Mar

Oh, Pokemon, how you take me back…to my carefree days of simply school and hanging out at friends’ pads. All I ever had to worry about that time was which Pokemon to start with, not figuring out which day of the week I’d like to sacrifice to do my taxes.

THE SPECIAL PIKACHU/YELLOW EDITION OF THE GAMEBOY COLOR, STILL AT MY PARENTS' HOUSE, PHOTO TAKEN BY MY SWEET LITTLE SISTER MEHEHEHEH.

Above, as you can see, was my first portable game system–I did geek out and get the special edition Yellow version that came with the Pokemon Yellow game…. Sometimes I wonder why I continue to play Pokemon–the concept is ALWAYS the same–catch your damn Pokemon, train, battle…. it’s not that exciting, but part of me likes to rekindle that digital part of my childhood and perhaps after I played SoulSilver I realized what a big difference (in terms of enjoyment) adding the Safari Zone and the option to explore Kanto was. Sure, the game is 2x as long as the original series but I’ve only logged 45 hours so far and am about to combat the Pokemon League.

So of course when I first heard of ANOTHER edition of Pokemon to release this year (3/6, specifically–that’s Sunday, folks, mark your calendars if you care) I had to google some details about Pokemon Black and Pokemon White–what will the developers add this time???

New features of Black/White (incentives for me to play):

1. Triple battles – 3-on-3 battles – 3 Pokemon at one time, holy sh*t. The battle screens have finally been updated as well; I wonder if the Pokemon will still be animated with  a forward lunge to signify an attack?

2. Pokemon Musical – I’m not sure I care too much for this but sounds… interesting. At least GAME FREAK was being creative? Though I must admit I spent a little bit of time in the photobooth with my Pokemon in SoulSilver… … …

Image via pokemonblackwhite.com

3. Seasons in the Unova region – A new area created for Black and White, this time we will have endure actual SEASONS, the environment changing as the game progresses. I wonder if certain Pokemon will be easier to catch during, for example, winter? This will definitely make the game exciting as I’ve become used to the alternate reality of the Pokemon world in the previous games, in which there is only one season, not unlike where I currently live in Southern California.

4. The Battle Subway – This might be the answer to our desires to battle more in order to up the levels of our Pokemon… unless you just take the Rare Candy route… yeup, you know what I’m talking about.

The Battle Subway. Image via pokemonblackwhite.com

I already reserved my copy of Pokemon White to pick up from GameStop so hopefully I’ll have some time to do a quick write-up of my first couple hours of gameplay!

4 Responses to “Still Trying to Catch ‘Em All”

  1. Bao Truong March 3, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    Hey Denise it’s been a while. Nice article by the way. The last Pokemon game I played was the yellow version and before that was the red version which I believe was the first Pokemon game. I stumbled upon some of the trailers for the new one and it reminded me so much of the original ones except for the upgraded graphics, new gameplay and Pokemons (so much for getting all 150), lol. Is there a reason for you to choose the white version over the black one?

    I did some Googling myself and found the black version to have three way battles but it’s rotational instead of three at once on the white version. They also have their respective main city with Black City being in the black version and White Forest in the white version.

    I’m also getting the 3DS, so hopefully it will be worth it’s price.

    • The Menace March 4, 2011 at 10:17 am #

      Hi Bao!!! It HAS been a while haha! Rotational battles are similar to the battles you can play in SoulSilver [the previous version of Pokemon] so I’d rather play all at once? If you get Black version we should trade hahahahhahahahahahhaahahhahhahahah oh lord I sound like a 12-year-old.

      • Bao Truong March 4, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

        LOL sounds fun, I actually got both versions so I’ll experience the best of both worlds. Yeah, we should trade sometime. haha.

  2. The Menace March 5, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    That is a lot of gameplay hahahhahahahahaahah

Leave a Reply

