Pirates and Zombies and Mermaids, oh my

6 May

So I just saw Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides (aka PotC IV) and IT WAS SO GOOD!

No, really, it was!

I know there might be some of you out there who were a little disappointed by the last two movies and, well, if I’m being truly honest, even I didn’t love them as much as I absolutely adored the first one.

(Before watching PotC I: CotBP, when asked about my favourite movie I always said Titanic because that’s a movie everyone liked, right? Then I saw Pirates and I was like, “THIS! This is my favourite movie of all time.” And it was. And it still is. I still haven’t seen Titanic.)

But this movie? Oh, it’s almost back to the first movie’s level of AWESOME. (Yes, that did need to be in all caps. Deal with it.)

In case you haven’t seen the trailer yet:

I think the more honest title for this movie is Pirates of the Caribbean: Watch Captain Jack Being Awesome.  The last three movies were good, but this one is definitely the Cap’n Jack Special.

We do get to see beloved side characters again, a great storyline, exciting chase scenes, swordfights…and there are some really cute deckhands if you pay attention to the extras.

I’m too full of squee right now for this to be a coherent review, so I’m just going to end by saying PotC IV is amazing. Go see it! [Comes out on May 20th]

Leave a Reply

